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Texans pride themselves on 
keeping their word. But what if  
you find that a promise made in 
good faith could hurt others?

Texas has a long and unique 
history with its veterans. It’s the  
only U.S. state that offers extensive  
educational benefits to veterans and 
their children. Through the state’s 
Hazlewood Act, originally approved 
in 1943, Texas promises its veterans 
or their survivors 150 free credit 
hours at any of the state’s 
public universities or com-
munity colleges, once 
their federal benefits 
have been exhausted. 
And vets may transfer 
hours they don’t use to 
their children. 

This benefit, 
commonly called the 
Hazlewood exemption, 
isn’t a grant or a scholar-
ship, and its recipients  
never actually see any money.  
Instead, colleges and universities  
absorb the costs of the credit hours provided by the act. 

But some say Hazlewood puts an undue strain 
on our institutions as well as many of their students. 
The number of recipients, particularly those receiving 
benefits transferred from a living parent, is growing 
exponentially, and educational institutions are passing 
along the cost of the exemption to other students 
through higher tuition bills. Skyrocketing tuition costs 
are forcing an uncomfortable question: how long can 
Texas and its colleges sustain the exemption? 

HAZLEWOOD HISTORY
Texas’ tradition of offering veterans educational benefits 
dates back to 1923, when legislators required public 
universities to exempt World War I veterans from 
tuitions and fees. 

CONTINUED ON PAGE 3
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In 1943, the Legislature modified the 
law to accommodate World War II veterans  
as well as the children of deceased 
veterans. Legislators named this the 
Hazlewood Act after the bill’s strongest 

proponent, Senator Grady Hazlewood  
of Amarillo. 

Since then, the Legislature has amended  
the act several times, most notably in 2007, 

to allow Hazlewood beneficiaries to 
qualify for state and federal 

veteran educational ben-
efits simultaneously; 

and in 2009, to 
allow living 
veterans to pass 

up to 150 unused 
credit hours to a 
child under 26 
and to extend the 
posthumous  

benefit to spouses. 
The ability to trans- 

fer credit hours to 
children has become 

known as the “Legacy 
Program.”

AN IMPORTANT BUT COSTLY BENEFIT
The Hazlewood exemption, obviously, is a huge 
asset to Texas military families, offering vets a 
pathway to a new career or helping them provide 
an education for their children. 

Hannah Arnold, a member of the Texas A&M 
University class of 2018, is studying biomedical 
sciences using Hazlewood benefits her father 
earned through 25 years of service in the Air Force 
Reserve. 

“The financial support I receive from the 
Hazlewood Act is 100 percent essential — I don’t 
know if I’d be able to be here without it,” she 
says. “My parents didn’t have a college fund saved for 
me, so I did a lot of research on how to pay for college. 

UNIQUE PROGRAM WITH A  
SPIRALING PRICE TAG

Hannah Arnold
Texas A&M  

Class of 2018
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Texas has always had a 

special relationship with 

the military and with 

veterans. Texans have 

been in the forefront of 

most of our nation’s wars, 

and many of our families 

have a long and proud tradition of service. 

For decades, our state has celebrated its bond  

with the armed services by providing our veterans with  

a unique benefit. Under the Hazlewood Act, Texas  

veterans, their children or their survivors can receive  

150 free credit hours at any public college or university 

in the state. 

But it’s an expensive benefit for some educational 

institutions, and for Texas students who can’t receive 

it. Spiraling losses in tuition revenue due to the exemp-

tion — nearly $178 million in 2015 — are forcing public 

colleges and universities to raise tuition rates to make up 

the cost. In effect, students without Hazlewood benefits 

are subsidizing those who have them. 

In this issue of Fiscal Notes, we examine the history 

and financial implications of the Hazlewood Act.

We also continue the examination of local sales taxes  

we began in our May issue, discussing how these taxes 

are reported, paid and allocated, and some of the 

administrative issues that inevitably arise when tax 

revenue has to be distributed to more than 1,500 local 

jurisdictions.

As always, I hope you enjoy this issue!

 G L E N N  H E G A R 
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

A Message from the Comptroller

If you would like to receive paper copies of Fiscal Notes,  
contact us at fiscal.notes@cpa.texas.gov

Texas has long been committed to our military bases and the personnel 
who call the Lone Star State home. As the state’s chief financial officer, 
I appreciate the military’s contribution to our economy: $136.4 billion 
in total annual output, $81.3 billion in gross state product and support 
for more than 804,000 Texans. By detailing the economic impact of our 
military installations, we hope to emphasize their importance to strong, 
diverse and growing 
regional economies.  Glenn Hegar

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

JBSAMILITARY SNAPSHOT

 JBSA

ESTIMATED CONTRIBUTIONS OF JBSA 
TO THE TEXAS ECONOMY, 2015

GROSS DOMESTIC PRODUCT

282,995

$48.7Billion

DIRECT AND INDIRECT EMPLOYMENT

OUTPUT

77,659
DIRECT EMPLOYMENT

Source: Texas Comptroller 
of Public Accounts

PEOPLE ASSOCIATED WITH JBSA

To see a complete list of these installations, plus more in-depth regional and 
county-by-county data, visit:  

JBSA IS ONE OF 15 MAJOR TEXAS MILITARY INSTALLATIONS.

TEXASAHEAD.ORG/ECONOMIC-DATA/MILITARY

$51,842 $48,104
$60,705

ALAMO 
REGION

Source: Economic Modeling Specialists Intl.

U.S.
TEXAS

Source: U.S. Census Bureau

Source: JBSA and 
U.S. Census Bureau

JBSA RESEARCH
DEVELOPED TECHNOLOGY 

TO DETECT INTERNAL 
BLEEDING AND 
HEAT INJURY.

Joint Base San Antonio

$28.8Billion

In 2014, military 
employment accounted 
for 

3.4%
and contributed

4.8%

REGIONAL AVERAGE 
MILITARY EMPLOYMENT 
WAGES ARE 

    17.1% 
HIGHER THAN THE STATE 
MILITARY EMPLOYMENT 
AVERAGE

BEXAR COUNTY

JBSA

JBSA =

9% OF ALAMO REGION 
POPULATION

ALAMO REGION
NEARLY ONE OUT OF 

EVERY EIGHT PEOPLE 

IN BEXAR COUNTY 

IS ASSOCIATED WITH 

JBSA.
 

THEY ARE EMPLOYEES 

(MILITARY, CIVILIAN 

AND CONTRACTOR), 

RETIREES OR FAMILY 

MEMBERS.

AVERAGE MILITARY EMPLOYMENT 
WAGES, 2014

ALAMO REGION

          of its 
compensation.

of 
Alamo 
Region  

employment

*Note: the Alamo Region is one of 
12 Texas economic regions defined 
by the Comptroller’s office.
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The Hazlewood Act: College for Veterans CONTINUED FROM PAGE 1

Hazlewood was one of the opportunities I found.”
The exemption’s popularity, however, has pushed  

its costs sharply upward. Between fiscal 2009 and 2015, 
the value of tuition lost due to Hazlewood rose by  
621 percent, from about $25 million to $178 million 
(Exhibit 1). By 2017, the Legislative Budget Board 
expects this figure to leap to more than $286 million,  
a 61 percent increase in just two years. 

AN UNDERFUNDED MANDATE 
The surge in Hazlewood costs is particularly significant 
because colleges and universities receive relatively little 
in state appropriations to cover them. 

Texas A&M leads the pack in the dollar value of 
Hazlewood exemptions, forgoing more than $18 million 
in tuition in fiscal 2015 (Exhibit 2). Texas State University 
ranks highest in its number of exemptions awarded 

E X H I B I T  2

TOP 15 EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS BY VALUE  
OF HAZLEWOOD EXEMPTIONS GRANTED,  

FISCAL 2015

 INSTITUTION
VALUE OF  

EXEMPTIONS

Texas A&M University  $18,068,913

Texas State University  14,671,408

Texas Tech University  11,817,542

University of Texas at Austin  10,968,712

University of North Texas  10,868,798

University of Texas at San Antonio  10,663,492

University of Houston  7,799,749

University of Texas at Arlington  7,653,640

Sam Houston State University  6,095,143

University of Texas at El Paso  4,089,224

University of Texas at Dallas  3,943,098

Stephen F. Austin State University  3,940,143

Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi  3,613,624

Tarleton State University  3,257,787

Prairie View A&M University  3,232,199 

Source: Texas Veterans Commission

E X H I B I T  3

TOP 15 EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS BY NUMBER  
OF HAZLEWOOD EXEMPTIONS GRANTED,  

FISCAL 2015

 NUMBER OF  
INSTITUTION AWARDS

Texas State University 2,091

Texas A&M University 2,030

University of Texas at San Antonio 1,620

Texas Tech University 1,446

University of North Texas 1,443

University of Texas at Arlington 1,307

University of Texas at Austin 1,133

Austin Community College 1,068

University of Houston 990

Sam Houston State University 919

University of Texas at El Paso 919

Tarrant County College District 827

Alamo Community College District-San Antonio College 803

Dallas County Community College District 753

University of Texas-Pan American 695 

Source: Texas Veterans Commission

(Exhibit 3), with 2,091 Hazlewood recipients in 
fiscal 2015 — up from just 656 in fiscal 2010, the 
first full year of the Legacy Program.

And again, some schools say they are recoup-
ing the cost of the exemption through higher 
overall tuition rates.

“Hazlewood is effectively funded primarily  
by other paying students,” says Dr. Eugene 
Bourgeois, provost and vice president for 
Academic Affairs at Texas State University. “We 
estimate at least $500 of the annual tuition paid 
by full-time, non-Hazlewood students goes to 
replace the revenue lost as a result of the act.” 

In February 2013 legislative testimony, 
Bourgeois called for the program to be fully 
funded by the state, noting that the cost of the 

E X H I B I T  1

RISE IN VALUE OF HAZLEWOOD EXEMPTION, FISCAL 2009-2015
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Dr. Eugene Bourgeois
Provost and  

Vice President for  
Academic Affairs at 

Texas State University

CONTINUED ON PAGE 4

$24,656,778 $34,263,829

$71,850,210
$110,842,939

$149,842,917
$171,529,990 $177,768,908
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Hazlewood exemption had required the university to 
defer faculty hires, delay the implementation of  
several academic programs and leave other critical 
campus needs unmet. 

Of course, Hazlewood isn’t the only reason for rising 
tuition costs. But it’s a significant and rapidly increasing 
factor. At Texas State University, for instance, tuition 
rose by an average of about 5 percent annually between 
the 2009 and 2015 school years — but the exemption’s 
cost to the university rose more than twice as fast, at an 
annual average of 11 percent. 

COST DRIVERS
The sharp increase in the cost of the Hazlewood  
exemption is largely due to the 2009 introduction of  
the Legacy Program, offering free tuition to the children 
of Texas veterans. In 2015, Legacy participants made 
up more than 56 percent of all recipients of Hazlewood 
benefits and received nearly 70 percent of the total 
value of the exemption (Exhibit 4).

According to a study by Rice University’s Hobby 
Center for the Study of Texas, an age-specific surge is 
contributing to rising costs, though it’s likely to ease 
toward the end of the current decade. 

“There’s a large cohort of veterans who served 
during the Cold War and/or the first Gulf War,” says Dr. 
Michael Cline, associate director of the Hobby Center. 
“They’re now in their 40s and 50s, and their children are 
in or about to enter college, thus contributing to the 
growth in Legacy exemptions. 

“Despite the recent wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, 
however, the U.S. military has a much smaller footprint 
than it did in Gulf War I or in the Cold War, and thus our 
veteran population — and the number of their children 
— will be smaller in the years to come, which should 
help slow the growth in this program,” he says. 

Another factor driving usage of the exemption 
could be related to public awareness of military benefits 
in general. According to Rufus Coburn, director of the 
Veterans Education Program at the Texas Veterans 
Commission, the rapid increase in usage of the exemp-
tion since 2009 is partly attributable to “bleed-over” 
from the federal Post-9/11 GI Bill, which went into 
effect in the same year. The bill “has had a positive 
influence of attracting more veterans to school and to 
Hazlewood,” Coburn says.

The Post-9/11 GI Bill provides veterans full credit 
for up to four years of school, as well as stipends for 
the cost of living and textbooks. Before this law, most 
veterans could rely on the federal government only for 
a monthly stipend that rarely covered the full costs 
of college. Thus the Post-9/11 GI Bill offered veterans 
an opportunity to go to school with a housing allow-
ance as well as a stipend for books and supplies.  
Many then turned to Hazlewood to cover leftover or 
postgraduate expenses.

HARRIS V. CANTU
According to state law, Hazlewood benefits are available 
to veterans who currently reside in Texas and who lived 
in Texas or had Texas as their home of record at the time 
of enlistment, or who simply enlisted in Texas. 

A recent federal court decision, however, challenged 
this basic residency requirement, and could have had an 
enormous fiscal impact on the exemption had it not been 
overturned upon appeal. 

E X H I B I T  4

THE NUMBERS OF HAZLEWOOD BENEFICIARIES AND VALUE OF EXEMPTIONS, FISCAL 2009-2015

YEAR

BENEFICIARY T YPES

TOTALSVETERANS   LEGACY
 SURVIVING  

DEPENDENTS
SURVIVING  

SPOUSES

NUMBER OF 
BENEFICIARIES

VALUE OF 
EXEMPTIONS

NUMBER OF 
BENEFICIARIES

VALUE OF 
EXEMPTIONS

NUMBER OF 
BENEFICIARIES

VALUE OF 
EXEMPTIONS

NUMBER OF 
BENEFICIARIES

VALUE OF 
EXEMPTIONS

NUMBER OF 
BENEFICIARIES

VALUE OF 
EXEMPTIONS

2009 9,861 $24,611,106 0 $0 21 $45,672 0 $0 9,882 $24,656,778

2010 13,017 31,424,748 530 1,860,887 277 945,756 13 32,437 13,837 34,263,829

2011 17,869 46,319,359 2,440 12,491,785 2,245 12,925,094 31 113,972 22,585 71,850,210

2012 20,818 54,047,406 7,102 43,444,679 3,265 13,210,544 52 140,311 31,237 110,842,939

2013 24,062 65,222,321 12,129 76,120,691 1,610 7,933,786 144 566,118 37,945 149,842,917

2014 16,925 51,502,887 19,549 112,143,312 1,498 6,442,878 421 1,440,913 38,393 171,529,990

2015 14,304 43,080,621 21,781 123,840,566 2,187 9,139,980 550 1,707,740 38,822 177,768,908

   Source: Texas Veterans Commission

The Hazlewood Act: College for Veterans CONTINUED FROM PAGE 3

Dr. Michael Cline
Associate Director,  

Hobby Center 
for the Study  

of Texas 

The sharp increase in the cost of 
the Hazlewood exemption is largely 

due to the 2009 introduction  
of the Legacy Program.   
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In January 2015, a U.S. district court in Houston 
granted Keith Harris, a University of Houston law 
student, the right to Hazlewood benefits despite the fact 
that he was a Georgia resident at enlistment. The court 
ruled in Harris v. Cantu that “Texas may not discriminate 
against its more recent residents in favor of more 
established residents simply to control costs.” 

The Texas Veterans Commission estimated the 
district court ruling could extend Hazlewood benefits to 
as many as 700,000 additional veterans currently residing 
in Texas. It could also have had broader implications; if 
the residency requirement were deemed unconstitution-
al, it could have paved the way for challenges to other 
residency-based benefits, such as in-state tuition. 

The Texas Attorney General appealed the case to the 
Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals. Shortly before this issue 
went to press, the court overturned the lower court’s 
ruling and upheld the state’s residency requirement. 

EASING THE BURDEN
The 2013 Legislature established the Permanent Fund 
Supporting Military and Veterans Exemptions (PFSMV) to 
offset Hazlewood costs. This fund is capitalized by state 
appropriations and gifts or grants and distributed to 

institutions in proportion to their respective share of the 
total costs of Legacy exemptions. In September 2013, 
the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation gave 
$248 million to the PFSMV. From this amount, the 2015 
Legislature appropriated $11.4 million and $11.7 million 
in reimbursements to colleges and universities for 
fiscal 2016 and 2017, respectively. The institutions also 
received $15 million for fiscal 2016 and $15 million for 
fiscal 2017 in state general revenue through the Texas 
Veterans Commission.

The revenue is welcome, but hardly enough to cover 
the exemption’s full cost. 

A December 2014 Legislative Budget Board report 
offered proposals to cope with the program’s rapidly 
growing cost. These centered on three main strategies: 
implementing socioeconomic criteria for the exemption; 
reducing the number of credit hours eligible for transfer 
to Legacy recipients; and increasing the duty time 
required to transfer hours to dependents.
CONTINUED ON PAGE 6

The idea of attaching means 
testing to a veteran benefit has 

met with resistance.   
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The Hazlewood Act: College for Veterans CONTINUED FROM PAGE 5

The idea of attaching socioeconomic criteria 
(“means testing”) to a veteran benefit has met with 
resistance, however. 

“From a veteran standpoint, basing it on need  
is untenable,” says Coburn. “When soldiers are in a  
foxhole together, one person’s service isn’t better than 
another’s. Veteran benefits aren’t charity, they’re an 
earned benefit.” 

Tying the number of free semester hours to years of 
military service, or capping them for Legacy recipients, 
may be more palatable options. Such strategies might 
be modeled after the Post-9/11 GI Bill, which provides 
benefits according to length of service. 

The Hobby Center has examined several cost-savings  
strategies, including increasing Hazlewood-eligible 
service time to six years or more and implementing a 
six- to eight-year Texas residency requirement. 

According to the center, requiring six years of service 
for Hazlewood benefits could reduce veteran awards by 
70 percent and Legacy awards by 31 percent. A six- to 
eight-year residency requirement would decrease 
veteran awards by almost 30 percent, but would have 
little or no impact on Legacy awards. 

Still another proposed solution is limiting the 
time in which the benefit can be used to 15 years after 
discharge.

“Adding an expiration date on the use of the 
Hazlewood exemption would help slow the growth in 
exemptions, while at the same time maintaining the 
program’s original intention,” says Cline. “This limitation 
probably would not affect the use of veteran exemp-
tions significantly, because most attend college soon 
after discharge; but for a dependent to use a Legacy 
exemption, [he or she] would need to be at least four 
years old when their parent is discharged.” 

2015 LEGISLATION
In the 2015 session, state Sen. Brian Birdwell authored 
S.B. 1735, a bill combining several of these strategies. 
The bill that passed out of the Senate chamber would 
have introduced a continuous eight-year Texas residency 
requirement for veterans to access any part of the 
benefit, and a six-year active-duty requirement before 
veterans could pass hours to a Legacy recipient. 

It also would have established a 15-year post- 
discharge expiration date on Legacy benefits, and 
restricted Legacy recipients to 60 credit hours on an 
undergraduate degree only, while requiring them to 

maintain a 2.5 GPA and a 24 credit-hour annual course 
load, and to complete a Free Application for Federal 
Student Aid form to ensure all available federal benefits 
are exhausted before Legacy hours are used. 

The bill, however, caused a good deal of contention 
in the House, whose members expressed distaste at  
voting on it the day before a Memorial Day weekend. The  
House approved the bill only after removing a majority 
of its restrictions; it died in conference committee after 
legislators failed to reach an agreement. 

Similar efforts to amend Hazlewood undoubtedly will 
resurface during the 2017 session. 

COSTS AND BENEFITS
Texas needs to improve its college completion rates — 
currently well below the national average — to maintain 
its economic competitiveness, and few doubt the positive  
impact of providing veterans with an opportunity for 
higher education. 

Hazlewood proponents further argue that veteran 
and Legacy benefits encourage many Texas veterans 
to return to the state after completing their service. 
Enticing these veterans back to Texas could help  
maintain the flow of billions of dollars in federal  
disability compensation and education funding  
into the state each year. 

Yet the Legislature must decide how to weigh these 
benefits against their inflationary effects on tuition. 

“More students coming out of high school are [from] 
economically underprivileged households. We have 
to be mindful of the price point of attendance,” says 
Bourgeois — and strive to keep it affordable for all. FN

For more information on the Hazelwood Act,  
visit the Texas Veterans Commission at  
tvc.texas.gov/Hazlewood-Act.aspx.

The Legislature must decide  
how to weigh Hazlewood benefits 

against their inflationary  
effects on tuition.   

Efforts to amend Hazlewood 
undoubtedly will resurface during 

the 2017 legislative session.
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Texas Local Sales Taxes, Part II By John Heleman

In the May issue of Fiscal Notes, we examined the history 
and structure of Texas local sales taxes. In this issue, we’ll 
look at some of the mechanics of local sales taxation: 
how taxpayers — that is, those who are selling or using 
taxable items and who are responsible for remitting 
sales tax — report and pay; how the Comptroller’s 
office allocates those tax dollars back to the appropriate 
jurisdictions; and how some related administrative 
issues are handled. 

E X H I B I T  1

MONTHLY LOCAL SALES TAX COLLECTIONS BY JURISDICTION TYPE, CALENDAR 2015

MONTH CITIES COUNTIES
SPECIAL-PURPOSE 

DISTRICTS
TRANSIT  

AUTHORITIES TOTALS

JANUARY $401,852,769 $40,138,543 $37,235,443 $138,863,497 $618,090,253 

FEBRUARY 569,759,229 54,591,974 52,039,028 196,717,008 873,107,239

MARCH 381,531,251 38,553,403 35,858,943 134,059,333 590,002,930

APRIL 374,258,187 37,140,093 34,349,261 130,887,419 576,634,960

MAY 498,135,363 46,169,553 44,064,949 171,362,009 759,731,875

JUNE 409,490,384 39,341,929 37,992,687 142,358,158 629,183,158

JULY 396,350,547 37,021,463 37,180,132 139,159,056 609,711,197

AUGUST 496,115,103 46,252,617 45,950,628 171,907,322 760,225,671

SEPTEMBER 417,936,678 39,614,612 37,595,310 143,012,230 638,158,831

OCTOBER 403,524,329 37,487,232 36,971,374 138,224,239 616,207,174

NOVEMBER 481,983,957 42,828,096 43,019,225 163,881,076 731,712,354

DECEMBER 407,285,620 37,512,992 37,692,384 143,854,995 626,345,991

GRAND TOTALS, 2015 $5,238,223,417 $496,652,507 $479,949,364 $1,814,286,342 $8,029,111,633 

Source: Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

SINGLE POINT OF CONTACT 
In Texas, local sales taxes are assessed in conjunction 
with the state tax, usually on the same transactions, 
and collected along with state sales taxes using forms 
designed to work together.  

The agency thus provides taxpayers with a single 
“point of contact,” a single entity that collects state and 

local sales taxes, audits the associated reports and 
answers taxpayer questions. Most states follow this 

model, with some regional variation. In Louisiana, 
for instance, sales taxpayers may pay and report 

both state and local taxes at the same time 
through a state-administered website, but  

other communications, including many  
local tax questions and all those concern-

ing audits of local sales tax 
payments, must be directed to 
individual parish tax agencies.

In calendar 2015, the 
Comptroller’s office collected 
an average of about $669 
million in local sales taxes 
each month (Exhibit 1). The 
agency must allocate this 
revenue to 1,544 separate 
taxing jurisdictions, based on 
what businesses report about 
their places of operation and 
their sales activity. (The state 
deducts 2 percent, deposited 

FILING, REPORTING, ALLOCATIONS AND MORE

CONTINUED ON PAGE 8
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Texas Local Sales Taxes, Part II CONTINUED FROM PAGE 7

by law to the state’s General Revenue Fund, to help 
defray the cost of collecting, administering and auditing 
local sales taxes.) 

FILING AND ALLOCATION
More than 40 percent of Texas sales taxpayers remit 
their taxes and tax reports on a quarterly basis. 
Depending on the size of the business, some taxpayers 
remit and file monthly or annually, the latter in the case 
of very small businesses or those with infrequent sales. 

Sellers must file a tax return even if they have no 
sales for the reporting period or if all their sales are 
nontaxable. Taxpayers who file their returns on or 

STATE VS. LO C AL TA X AB I LIT Y

Texas’ local sales taxes apply to almost the same set of goods and 
services as the state sales tax. There are two significant differences, 
however, both involving a relatively small number of companies 
reporting sales tax: telecommunications services and natural gas 
and electricity used by residential customers. 

The residential use of natural gas and electricity was taxable 
under the state sales tax until 1978, when both were exempted. Cities 
levying  a sales tax were allowed to retain (or later impose) the sales  
tax on residential gas and electricity — a “grandfathering” provision  
— by city ordinance. At this writing, 776 of Texas’ 1,150 cities with 
a local sales tax (and 17 special-purpose districts, authorized under 
a separate change in law effective Jan. 1, 2010) impose the tax on 
household energy use.

Similarly, the state sales tax applies to telecommunication 
services, while local governments may tax them only if their voters 
approve. Among those imposing a local sales tax, about half of Texas 
cities, seven of 10 metropolitan transit authorities, 38 of 123 counties  
and 129 of 261 special-purpose districts tax these services.  
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WHO WHEN FILE / PAY ONLINE HOW MANY

MONTHLY FILERS
Taxpayers who collect $500 or more in state sales tax in 
a single month.

Monthly sales tax returns are due on or before 
the 20th day of the month following the month in 
which the taxes were collected. For example, the 
July return — reporting taxes collected in July — 
must be filed on or before August 20.

YES
88 percent file and pay
electronically

193,929  

QUARTERLY FILERS
Taxpayers who collect less than $500 in state sales tax in 
a month or less than $1,500 in a calendar quarter.

Quarterly sales tax returns are due on or before 
the 20th day of the month following the end of the 
calendar quarter in which the taxes were collected. 
For example, the return for the first quarter 
(January, February and March) must be filed on or 
before April 20. 

YES
45 percent file and pay 
electronically

261,804

ANNUAL FILERS 
Taxpayers who collect less than $1,000 in state sales tax 
per year may file annually with authorization from the 
Comptroller’s office.

Yearly sales and use tax returns are due on or 
before January 20th for the previous year’s activity.

YES
25 percent file and pay 
electronically

185,508

$500   OR MORE

MONTH

$1,000
YEAR

$500
MONTH

$1,500
QUARTER

LESS THAN
or

LESS THAN

88%

45%

25%

WHO FILES WHEN

200,000

300,000

200,000

OTHER NOTES:     •  Pre-payers — for example, those who pay June’s taxes  
in June rather than July — may retain an additional  
1.25 percent of tax collections. Annual filers do not have  
the prepayment option.

•  For all filer types, if the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday  
or legal holiday, the next business day is the due date.

Taxpayers with a single storefront 
can report the tax collected  

with a brief sales tax form  
only a few lines long.
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before the due date are entitled to retain 0.5 percent of 
the tax collections, as reimbursement for the cost of tax 
collection and paperwork.

Taxpayers with a single storefront (or “outlet”) can 
report the tax collected with a brief sales tax form only  
a few lines long. Most larger taxpayers, with multiple 
locations and (possibly) more complex transactions,  
must provide a lengthier form, often with supplementary  
sheets to fully document their sales and collections.  
A few taxpayers in special circumstances (such as 
businesses remitting tax on their own purchases rather 
than paying it to the vendor) use special forms tailored 
to their circumstances.

For a taxpayer who sells only physical goods from 
a “brick-and-mortar” location without more complex 
business dealings, the process of filing a tax return and 
paying — even for multiple outlets— is relatively easy. 
The Comptroller’s office is always willing to provide 
forms, instruction and advice via its website, and to help 
taxpayers on the phone or by email.  

When a taxpayer applies for a sales tax permit, the 
Comptroller’s office must be notified of the address of 
each outlet. The agency can pinpoint exactly what local 
sales tax jurisdictions — and tax rates — are in force 
at each outlet. (These data are updated as needed to 
reflect current rates and boundary changes.) 

For nearly 60 percent of all filers, the agency will 
provide paper and online sales tax forms with the 
appropriate local tax rate already filled in for each outlet. 
All the taxpayer has to do at this point is to multiply the 

total local sales tax rate by the amount of taxable sales 
at each outlet to get the total amount of tax due for that 
location.

The remaining taxpayers (about 263,000) must 
report their collections with a list itemizing the tax 
collected for each applicable local jurisdiction. These 
taxpayers, informally called “list filers,” generally are 
businesses that make certain types of online sales, 
sell certain taxable services or have large or complex 
business enterprises with numerous outlets. 

Over time, increasing numbers of sales taxpayers 
have chosen to pay and file reports online; it’s easier and 
cheaper for them and the Comptroller’s office. Taxpayers 
paying more than $10,000 annually in state and local 
sales taxes are required by law to remit tax money 
online. Taxpayers paying more than $50,000 annually 
are required to file tax returns online as well. In practice, 
most taxpayers required to pay electronically also report 
electronically. 

 “Online” filing can mean the Comptroller website 
set up for this purpose, or another format such as elec-
tronic data interchange or EDI, typically used by larger 
taxpayers with more complex filings. Tax payments 
may be sent by electronic funds transfer or credit card 
through the Comptroller’s WebFile system, as well as by 
other fund transfer protocols generally used by larger 
taxpayers.

PAPE R  VS.  E LE C TRO N I C  FI LI N G 

In fiscal 1990, 35 percent of all tax dollars collected by 
the Comptroller’s office were sent electronically; by 
fiscal 2015, this share had risen to 98 percent.

Taxpayers paying more than 
$10,000 annually in state and local 

sales taxes are required to remit 
tax money online. 

CONTINUED ON PAGE 10
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ADMINISTRATIVE ISSUES
Certain basic issues arise repeatedly in the administration  
of Texas’ complex web of local sales taxes. One concerns 
taxability: is a purchase taxable or not? 

Exemptions for taxable items can seem ambiguous 
or subject to interpretation, and taxability issues can and 
often do arise during audits, administrative hearings,  
court proceedings or all three, particularly in cases 
involving purchases by businesses. When such events 
result in a finding that no tax was in fact due, state and 
local sales taxes paid will be refunded to the taxpayer.  

Another issue arises from determining the appropriate  
taxing jurisdictions for any purchase.  

Occasionally, for instance, taxpayers will move 
a store from one jurisdiction to another and neglect 
to inform the Comptroller’s office of the move. The 
taxpayer continues to report the new location’s sales 
under the original location, and consequently the local 
tax is reported and paid to the wrong jurisdiction.

Or perhaps a company opens an additional outlet, 
again failing to inform the Comptroller’s office, and 
uses its sales tax forms, preprinted for the first outlet, 
to report sales and taxes due for both locations. In such 
cases, the first jurisdiction is overpaid while the second 
loses out. 

Such missteps often are discovered in a routine 
audit. The Comptroller’s subsequent rerouting of some  
local sales tax revenue can, of course, create a short-term 
revenue disruption for a local government, although  
the amounts in question generally aren’t significant 
in terms of an entire budget. For a small jurisdiction, 
however, the loss of revenue due to a large refund or the 
rerouting of erroneously allocated revenue can cause 
some financial strain.

Such effects can be magnified by the state’s statute 
of limitations, which allows issues of this sort to be 
addressed for up to four years after the fact, or even  
longer depending on various actions taken by the 
taxpayer.

In short, it’s quite possible for a jurisdiction to lose 
revenue allocated (and spent) years ago to a later refund 
or reallocation. 

Texas Local Sales Taxes, Part II CONTINUED FROM PAGE 9

A CONTINUING CHALLENGE
The single point of contact the Comptroller’s office 
provides for all aspects of local sales tax administration 
benefits Texas’ 640,000 sales taxpayers by making the 
process streamlined, consistent and workable across the 
state. It frees businesses from the burden of reporting 
and paying sales tax to multiple jurisdictions, and allows 
local governments to avoid administrative duties that 
would shift vital funding away from police, fire depart-
ments and emergency services, transportation and 
many other important local functions. 

Over the years, Texas has worked to make the  
collection and payment of local sales taxes easier for 
businesses. Yet the administration of local sales taxes 
will never be trouble-free for tax authorities, since a 
single location can lie within two, three or more local  
jurisdictions. It’s a continuing challenge to make sure 
that hundreds of thousands of Texas sales tax outlets 
each collect the appropriate local sales taxes —  
and to make the process as trouble-free as possible  
for sellers. FN

For more information on taxpayer responsibilities 
concerning local sales taxes, see the Comptroller’s publi-
cation “Local Sales and Use Tax Collection — A Guide  
for Sellers” at comptroller.texas.gov/taxinfo/taxpubs. 

The administration of  
local sales taxes will never be 

trouble-free, since one location 
can lie inside of two, three or more 

local jurisdictions.
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State Revenue Watch 

Tax Collections by Major Tax JUNE 2016
YEAR TO DATE:  

TOTAL

YEAR TO DATE: 
CHANGE FROM 

PREVIOUS YEAR

SALES TAX  $2,206,633  $23,366,581 -2.35%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -0.76%

MOTOR VEHICLE SALES AND RENTAL TAXES  421,713  3,750,140 1.98%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -0.09%

MOTOR FUEL TAXES  295,127  2,909,610 2.35%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 7.58%

FRANCHISE TAX  49,736  3,783,077 -15.65%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -2.85%

INSURANCE TAXES  20,761  1,367,230 8.07%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -12.90%

NATURAL GAS PRODUCTION TAX  43,499  467,354 -57.69%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -47.39%

CIGARETTE AND TOBACCO TAXES  122,283  1,149,389 -5.55%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -8.99%

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES TAXES  102,640  983,093 5.93%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 19.86%

OIL PRODUCTION AND REGULATION TAXES  161,639  1,402,625 -42.71%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -25.86%

UTILITY TAXES1  22  300,074 -10.65%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -97.90%

HOTEL OCCUPANCY TAX  40,217  424,728 -0.43%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -11.39%

OTHER TAXES2  5,274  $157,529 -33.03%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -69.40%

TOTAL TAX COLLECTIONS  $3,469,545  $40,061,429 -6.60%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -3.07%

Revenue By Source JUNE 2016
YEAR TO DATE:  

TOTAL

YEAR TO DATE: 
CHANGE FROM 

PREVIOUS YEAR

TOTAL TAX COLLECTIONS  $3,469,545  $40,061,429 -6.60%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -3.07%

FEDERAL INCOME  3,306,684  33,562,180 9.01%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -14.15%

LICENSES, FEES, FINES AND PENALTIES  939,834  10,021,300 23.69%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -17.15%

INTEREST AND INVESTMENT INCOME  285,971  1,127,681 2.74%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 28.25%

NET LOTTERY PROCEEDS3  192,304  1,865,578 17.66%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 32.01%

SALES OF GOODS AND SERVICES  26,229  242,038 -37.67%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -62.53%

SETTLEMENTS OF CLAIMS  2,775  585,973 9.76%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -63.29%

LAND INCOME  99,895  838,891 -37.31%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -24.07%

CONTRIBUTIONS TO EMPLOYEE BENEFITS  5  45 -5.27%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 11.24%

OTHER REVENUE  815,226  4,676,119 9.25%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 27.82%

TOTAL NET REVENUE  $9,138,469  $92,981,234 2.17%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM JUNE 2015 -6.57%

1 Includes public utility gross receipts assessment, 
gas, electric and water utility taxes and gas 
utility pipeline tax. 

2 Includes the cement and sulphur taxes and 
other occupation and gross receipts taxes not 
separately identified.

3 Gross sales less retailer commissions and the 
smaller prizes paid by retailers. 

Note: Totals may not add due to rounding.

NET STATE REVENUE — All Funds Excluding Trust

(AMOUNTS IN THOUSANDS)

Monthly and Year-to-Date Collections: Percent Change From Previous Year

This table presents data on net 
state revenue collections by 
source. It includes most recent 
monthly collections, year-to-date 
(YTD) totals for the current fiscal 
year and a comparison of current 
YTD totals with those in the 
equivalent period of the previous 
fiscal year. 

These numbers were current at 
press time. For the most current 
data as well as downloadable files, 
visit TexasTransparency.org.

Note: Texas’ fiscal year begins  
on Sept. 1 and ends on Aug. 31.
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The Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts is an equal opportunity  
employer and does not discriminate on the basis of race,  

color, religion, sex, national origin, age or disability 
in employment or in the provision of  
any services, programs or activities.

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act,  
this document is available in a reader-friendly format at 

comptroller.texasgov/fiscalnotes.

Contact the Communications and Information Services Division  at  
512-463-4900 or 1-800-531-5441, ext. 3-4900 (VOICE),  

512-463-4226 (FAX),  
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