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LEVIES PLAY DUAL ROLE
Texas collects most of its tax revenue on retail sales and 
various forms of business activity. Some taxes, however, 
commonly called “sin taxes,” are levied on the sale of 
alcohol and tobacco products as well as activities related 
to gambling. While these taxes, like all state levies 
collected in Texas, help fund state programs, they’re 
also intended to deter people from activities considered 
detrimental to their health or to society.

Texas’ sin tax collections reached $3.8 billion in  
2015, accounting for 7.3 percent of all tax collections  
and 3.5 percent of total state revenue (Exhibit 1).  
(This analysis includes lottery revenue as a tax.) 

Of the sin taxes, those on cigarettes and other 
tobacco products brought in the most revenue, at  
$1.5 billion. State revenue from gambling activities, 
which in Texas include the state lottery and pari-mutuel 
horse and dog racing, brought in $1.2 billion in 2015, 
although 99.7 percent of that total came from the  
state’s share of lottery proceeds alone. Alcoholic  
beverages contributed another $1.1 billion in taxes, 
about 30 percent of all sin tax collections.

A LONG, SINFUL HISTORY 

In the U.S., sin taxes can be traced back to the late 
18th century, when the new nation assumed the debts 
incurred by the colonies during the Revolutionary 
War. To fund the debt, President George Washington’s 
Secretary of the Treasury, Alexander Hamilton, proposed 
a 7-cent-per-gallon tax on domestically produced 
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TEXAS SIN TAX COLLECTIONS, 2015

SOURCES
2015  

COLLECTIONS
SHARE OF TOTAL  

TEXAS TAX REVENUE

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE TAXES  $1,138,775,576 2.16%

CIGARETTE AND TOBACCO TAXES  $1,532,414,267 2.90%

GAMBLING*  $1,155,810,492 2.19%

TOTAL SIN TAXES  $3,829,656,214 7.25%

ALL TEXAS TAX COLLECTIONS*  $52,838,870,492 100.00%

* Includes state share of lottery proceeds.
Source: Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts 

distilled spirits. Approved by Congress as part of the 
Revenue Act of 1791, this “whiskey tax” was the first 
excise tax levied on a domestic product in the nation’s 
history. (An excise tax is a per-unit tax levied on  
a product.) 

Tobacco taxes followed soon after, but were quickly 
repealed and did not surface again until the Civil War.

Farmers strongly resisted the whiskey tax, as 
many were using part of their harvests to produce 
distilled spirits for sale. Their refusal to pay the tax led 
to violence against its collectors during the infamous 
Whiskey Rebellion, which ended in 1794 when President 
Washington himself led 13,000 troops into western 
Pennsylvania to suppress the insurrection and confirm 
the supremacy of federal laws within the states.

The whiskey tax was repealed during Thomas 
Jefferson’s presidency, and distilled spirits remained 
untaxed until the 1860s, when the cost of the Civil  
War forced Congress to resume taxing alcohol — and 

A L S O  I N S I D E  T H I S  I S S U E :

“SETTING ASIDE” MONEY FOR COLLEGE 8

MICROFINANCE MAKES BIG IMPACT 11

STATE REVENUE WATCH 15



 2  |  G L E N N  H E G A R ,  T E X A S  C O M P T R O L L E R  O F  P U B L I C  A C C O U N T S

The Supreme Court Justice 

Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr. 

once said “Taxes are what 

we pay for civilized society.” 

And we taxpayers know 

we’ve been asked to pay 

that price on a dizzying 

variety of goods and 

activities — even the ones that aren’t good for us.

In this issue of Fiscal Notes, we continue our 

examination of the taxes that support Texas’ state and 

local governments. This time, we look at the curious 

category often called sin taxes.

Sin taxes traditionally include those levied on 

tobacco and alcohol. The revenues raised by  

state-sanctioned gambling, such as pari-mutuel 

racing and state lotteries, are often counted as well. 

They’re a small but important part of Texas’ tax 

structure and may (or may not) spur us to cut back on 

bad habits, too.

We also examine “set-asides,” the portion 

reserved from tuition at public universities to support 

financial aid for those who lack the funds for college. 

Set-asides have become ever more important as the 

cost of college continues to soar, but some question 

whether they should be replaced by direct state 

funding for student aid.

Finally, we take a look at “microlending,” small 

loans made by nonprofits to support beginning  

businesses and encourage the growth of local 

economies. In South Texas in particular, microloans 

have helped thousands of people who couldn’t 

obtain traditional loans start businesses, creating 

jobs for their neighbors and strengthening their 

communities as well.

As always, I hope you enjoy this issue!

A Message from the Comptroller REGIONAL SNAPSHOT:
As the state’s chief financial officer, I’m charged with monitoring the 
state’s economic health. Therefore, it’s vitally important that my office 
studies factors related to our regional economies.

The 13 counties comprising the Gulf Coast Region have helped boost 
Texas’ remarkable growth and resiliency over the past 10 years.

- GLENN HEGAR
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
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DENSELY 

POPULATED.

The Gulf Coast Region 
added nearly 540,000 
jobs from 2003 to 2013 — 
nearly 30 percent of all 
Texas job growth — and 
had the state’s highest 
average wages ($60,534) 
in 2013.
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INCOME INEQUALITY WAGE GAP BETWEEN EARNERS AT 
THE TOP AND BOTTOM 10 PERCENT

The Gulf Coast Region 
has the state’s widest 
margin between high- 
and low-income earners.  
Education is a factor 
in the disparity; the 
region has a relatively 
high share of science, 
technology, engineering 
and mathematics jobs 
(22 percent).
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TEXASAHEAD.ORG/REGIONALRPTS

Sources: Economic Modeling Specialists Intl. 
and Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

TEXAS AVERAGE

Source: U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
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additional goods, including cigars and other tobacco 
products — as part of the Revenue Act of 1862. In fact, 
between the Civil War and the creation of the federal 
income tax in 1913, most of the nation’s non-tariff 
revenue derived from excise taxes such as those on 
liquor and tobacco.

Most states began levying their own excise taxes 
on alcohol and tobacco products in the 1930s, when 
the Great Depression dented their other revenues. 
Lawmakers sought new revenue sources that would  
not overly burden the already struggling population.

AN “EASY” TAX?

Today, all 50 states and the federal government impose 
some sort of tax on cigarettes and alcoholic beverages. 
State lawmakers often see sin tax increases as easier, 
politically, than raising state income, property or 
sales taxes, and in recent years have relied on them 
extensively to patch budgets. Since 2000, states 
collectively enacted 125 cigarette tax increases and 
another 31 on alcohol. The same period saw only  
21 increases to state sales taxes, for instance. 

One reason sin taxes may be more palatable than 
other taxes is because they fall only on those who use 
the product or partake in the activity — and many 
disapprove of the items and activities in question 
anyway. Also, sin taxes generally are built into the retail 
price of the product or activities and consumers are not 
always aware they’re paying them. 

Generally, these taxes don’t produce a significant 
share of state revenue, although some states rely on 
them much more than others. Governing magazine 
recently listed Rhode Island as the state most dependent 
on sin taxes, which contribute 15.9 percent of that  
state’s total tax revenue (Exhibit 2). Texas’ share was  
4.6 percent, slightly above the national average of  
3.8 percent in 2014. (Note that these percentages do not 
include lottery proceeds.)

IN TEXAS 

Generally, the state turns to sin taxes during times  
of budget crisis; the Legislature also may impose sin 
taxes for specific funding purposes.

Texas has taxed liquor and cigarettes since the Great 
Depression. Pari-mutuel betting in Texas has come and 
gone over the years; it was legal from 1905 to 1909, 
again from 1933 to 1937 and finally from 1987 to the 
present. The Texas Lottery sold its first tickets in 1992 
(Exhibit 3). 

Texas levies two types of tobacco taxes — one on 
cigarettes and another on cigars and other tobacco 
products (e.g., chewing tobacco, pipe tobacco and 
snuff). The 1931 Texas Legislature created the first Texas 
tobacco tax, enacting a 3-cent levy on each pack of  
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SIN TAXES AS A PERCENTAGE  
OF TOTAL STATE TAX REVENUE, 2014

Texas, U.S. and Top 10 States

Note: Lottery proceeds not included in this calculation.
Source: Governing, August 2015
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20 cigarettes. Between 1950 and 1990, this rate 
increased nine times, reaching 41 cents per pack, where 
it remained until 2006. In that year, a special session of 
the 2005 Legislature voted to raise the cigarette tax rate 
to $1.41 — an increase of $1 per pack of 20 — effective 
January 1, 2007.

Originally, cigars and some other tobacco products 
were taxed under the cigarette tax law. In 1959, the 
Legislature created a separate tax for cigars and other 
tobacco products, taxing cigars by volume and other 
tobacco products by factory price. Snuff was added to 
the tax in 1984. In 2009, further legislation changed the 
basis of the tax on other tobacco products to weight. 

Texas began taxing alcoholic beverages in 1935,  
and currently has six separate alcohol taxes. Four 
are excise taxes on liquor, beer, wine and malt liquor 
(Exhibit 4). These taxes are remitted at the wholesale 
level by distributors. 

Two other taxes, on mixed beverage gross receipts 
and mixed beverage sales, are imposed on all alcoholic 
beverages sold to consumers by restaurants and bars 
permitted to serve liquor. The mixed beverage gross 
receipts tax was levied at a rate of 14 percent before 
2013, when the mixed beverage sales tax was 
introduced. In fiscal 2014, the gross receipts tax was 

CONTINUED ON PAGE 4
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reduced to 6.7 percent. (Incidentally, the 
alcoholic beverage taxes as a group were the 
only type of Texas tax that weathered the 
Great Recession without declining.)

The 2015 Legislature repealed another 
alcohol tax, levied on alcoholic beverages  
sold to train and airline passengers, as of  
Sept. 1, 2015.

GAMBLING ON REVENUE

In 1987, Texas voters approved a statewide 
referendum allowing pari-mutuel wagering 
on horse and greyhound races. At present, the 
state has four active horse racing tracks and 
three greyhound tracks that are inactive but 
offering betting on races simulcast from other 
states (Exhibit 5). In 2015, these tracks brought 
in about $3 million in state general revenue. The 
popularity of pari-mutuel racing has declined 
considerably in recent years, however, and the 
2015 total represents less than a third of what 
the state realized in 1993.

The Texas Racing Commission (TRC)  
has proposed expanding gambling at horse and dog 
tracks by allowing “historical racing” — a game played 
on a device resembling a video slot machine that 
allows gamblers to bet on replays of old races — and 
promulgated rules for the activity. Racing industry 

proponents claim this feature could generate hundreds 
of millions in additional revenue for the state. Some 
members of the Legislature oppose TRC’s proposal, 
however, and a district court has struck down the rules. 
At this writing, historical racing is not yet offered at 
Texas tracks.
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MAJOR TEXAS AND FEDERAL ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE  
EXCISE TAX RATES, 2015

BEER* LIQUOR MALT LIQUOR (ALE)* TABLE WINE**

STATE $6/Barrel 
(19.4¢/Gallon) $2.40/Gallon 19.8¢/Gallon 20.4¢/Gallon

FEDERAL $18/Barrel  
(58.1¢/Gallon) $13.50/Gallon $18/Barrel  

(58.1¢/Gallon) $1.07/Gallon

   * Barrels are industry-standard 31-gallon containers.
 ** For wines with an alcohol volume of 14 percent or less.
Sources: Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts and U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau
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ADOPTION OF TEXAS SIN TAXES

LEGALIZED PARI-MUTUEL BETTING

CIGARETTE TAX

EXCISE TAXES ON LIQUOR, BEER, MALT LIQUOR (ALE)

SEPARATE TAX ON CIGARS AND OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCTS

AIRLINE/PASSENGER TRAIN BEVERAGE TAX

MIXED BEVERAGE GROSS RECEIPTS TAX

TAX ON MARIJUANA AND OTHER CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES

TEXAS LOTTERY

SEXUALLY ORIENTED BUSINESS FEE

MIXED BEVERAGE SALES TAX
1900            1910           1920           1930           1940           1950          1960            1970           1980           1990           2000            2010

Alcohol               Tobacco              Gambling and Other

Sources: Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts and U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau
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In 1991, state voters approved a constitutional 
amendment authorizing the Texas Lottery. The 
question of whether a state’s share of lottery 
proceeds constitutes a “sin tax” is debatable, but 
the Tax Foundation, a national tax policy research 
organization, maintains that if a state’s intent in 
offering a lottery is to raise revenues for the state 
— as in Texas, where net lottery proceeds support 
public education — the payment is a tax.

OTHER TEXAS SIN TAXES

Despite the fact that marijuana is still illegal in 
most U.S. jurisdictions, many states — including 
Texas, until recently — impose taxes on the sale of 
marijuana as well as other controlled substances. 
Texas imposed such a tax on the dealer (defined 
by law as one who imports, manufactures, 
produces, acquires or possesses a controlled 
substance) at a rate of $3.50 per gram for 
marijuana and $200 per gram for other controlled 
substances. 

The Legislature repealed Texas’ controlled 
substances tax effective Sept. 1, 2015, but not at 
any great cost to the state. While the Comptroller 
did collect a little revenue from the tax each year 
(less than $7,400 in fiscal 2015), the number of 
stamps issued was minimal and most likely were 
purchased by collectors.

In states where marijuana is legal, however, 
tax revenues can be significant. In September, 
for instance, Colorado’s Department of Revenue 
reported that the state’s taxes on the drug, which 
is legal there for recreational use, totaled nearly 
$70 million in fiscal 2015, while alcohol taxes 
raised just $42 million.

Another Texas levy, imposed in 2007, is 
collected at establishments that host live nude 
shows and also allow alcohol consumption on 
their premises. This $5-per-patron fee, officially 
named the sexually oriented business fee  
(and nicknamed the “pole tax” since strip clubs 
are subject to it), is used to support sexual assault 
victims’ assistance programs and provide health 
insurance for the poor. 

Texas’ Third Court of Appeals upheld this  
tax in 2014, following a number of challenges by 
the adult entertainment industry. It generated 
$8.9 million in fiscal 2015. 

The court’s opinion stated that “the tax’s 
primary purpose is to discourage this type of 
business activity altogether while also generating 
revenue to ameliorate the type of social ills that 
are associated with this type of business.”
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TEXAS PARI-MUTUEL RACING VENUES

Source: Texas Racing Commission

SAM HOUSTON RACE PARK 
Houston, TX

VALLEY RACE PARK 
Harlingen, TX

GILLESPIE COUNTY  
FAIRGROUNDS 
Fredericksburg, TX

LONE STAR PARK 
Grand Prairie, TX

RETAMA PARK 
San Antonio, TX

GULF COAST RACING 
Corpus Christi, TX

GULF GREYHOUND PARK 
La Marque, TX

HORSE TRACKS 

GREYHOUND TRACKS*

*Tracks do not currently offer live racing, but allow betting on simulcast races from other states.

CONTINUED ON PAGE 6

A DETERRENT EFFECT?

As the court indicated, sin taxes not only raise revenue 
for government, but also can be intended as a deterrent 
to behaviors considered harmful. The belief is that the 
higher the taxes, the more people will be discouraged from 
engaging in these behaviors.

For example, many people believe that cigarette taxes 
reduce smoking and thus improve public health. While 
studies vary widely on this issue, many indicate that the 
cigarette tax does indeed serve as a deterrent — but more  
so for younger people than for older, long-term smokers.

In Texas, per-capita taxed cigarette sales peaked in 1982 
at 131.2 packs a year, but by 2014 had declined to 33.7 packs 
per year, a 74.3 percent decrease (Exhibit 6). During those  
32 years, the combined Texas and federal cigarette tax rates 
increased by 812 percent, from 26.5 cents a pack to $2.42. 
While these numbers may suggest a correlation between 
rising cigarette prices and decreased sales, many other 
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factors may be 
involved, such as 
growing public 
awareness of 
smoking risks, public 
smoking bans and 
prevention efforts 
aimed at children  
and teens.

Sin taxes are “flat” taxes, applying the same tax rate 
to every taxpayer regardless of income and without 
deductions or exemptions. For this reason, many 
consider them unfair because the tax costs the poor 
a larger share of their income than the higher-income 
population. But this phenomenon, called “regressivity” 
in tax lingo, applies to excise taxes in general, because 
everyone pays the same amount per product or service, 
regardless of income. (Income taxes, by contrast, are 
“progressive,” since rates rise as income increases.)  

THE FUTURE OF SIN

While alcohol and tobacco have been the historic 
focus of sin taxes, today a growing number of other 
consumer products are being singled out. Some states, 

for example, now tax certain foods and beverages 
that are high in sugar, trans fats and other ingredients 
considered unhealthy, and associated with the rising 
incidence of obesity and Type 2 diabetes.

In the event of a future budget crisis, it’s possible 
that Texas lawmakers will consider raising rates on 
current sin taxes or even creating new ones. Soda and 
candy taxation proposals have come up for legislative 
debate in the past, as has the expansion of gambling.

Gambling proponents suggest the state could raise 
substantial amounts by legalizing and taxing casino 
gambling, although estimates of potential revenue 
range widely and would depend on the number of 
casinos, the types of games authorized and the portion 
of gaming revenue going to the state. 

In the meantime, Texans’ sin taxes continue to add 
revenue to state coffers. While it’s unclear whether 
they’ll ever succeed in curbing our appetite for tobacco, 
alcohol and gambling, at least state services benefit 
from our vices.

For more information on Texas taxes, visit  
Comptroller.Texas.Gov. FN
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CIGARETTE TAX RATES COMPARED  
TO PER CAPITA SALES

 1982-2014

TAX RATE PER PACK OF 20 CIGARETTES
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OVERVIEW OF TEXAS “SIN” TAXES

TAX RATE AND BASE REMITTED BY:
FISCAL 2015  

REVENUE

AIRLINE/PASSENGER  
TRAIN BEVERAGE TAX  
(REPEALED 2015)

5 cents per serving of an  
alcoholic beverage

Businesses providing 
commercial airline and 
passenger train service

$328,081

BEER TAX
$6 per 31 gallon barrel 
(19.4 cents per gallon)

Beer distributors,  
manufacturers and  
brew pubs

$103,006,928

CIGAR AND TOBACCO  
PRODUCTS TAX

1 cent per 10 cigars weighing 3 lbs 
per 1,000 cigars or less; $7.50-$15.00 
per 1,000 cigars weighing more than 
3 lbs per 1,000, depending on factory 
price and amount of non-tobacco 
ingredients; $1.22 per 1 ounce of 
chewing, pipe or roll-your-own  
tobacco and snuff

Cigar and tobacco  
wholesale distributors

$225,848,250

CIGARETTE TAX

$70.50 per 1,000 cigarettes weighing  
3 lbs or less ($1.41 per pack of 20); 
$72.60 per 1,000 weighing more  
than 3 lbs

Cigarette wholesale  
distributors

$1,306,566,017

CONTROLLED  
SUBSTANCE TAX  
(REPEALED 2015)

$200 for each gram of a controlled  
substance; $3.50 for each gram of  
marijuana; $200/gram or $2,000 for 
each 50 dosages of a controlled  
substance not sold by weight

Distributors of four or 
more ounces

$7,359

LIQUOR TAX $2.40 per gallon Liquor wholesalers $84,132,759

STATE LOTTERY N/A N/A $1,152,813,557*

MALT LIQUOR (ALE) TAX
19.8 cents per gallon Malt liquor (ale)  

wholesalers
$14,415,305

MIXED BEVERAGE GROSS 
RECEIPTS TAX AND MIXED 
BEVERAGE SALES TAX

6.7 percent of the gross receipts  
from alcoholic beverage sales;  
8.25 percent on the sale of  
alcoholic beverages

Permitted sellers of mixed 
drinks (gross receipts) and 
consumers (sales)

$922,120,847

PARI-MUTUEL RACING N/A N/A $2,996,492

SEXUALLY ORIENTED  
BUSINESS FEE

$5 per patron of establishments  
that host live nude shows and  
also allow alcohol consumption  
on their premises

Establishment owners $8,946,384

WINE TAX

20.4 cents per gallon for alcoholic 
volume not over 14 percent;  
40.8 cents per gallon for alcoholic 
volume over 14 percent; 51.6 cents 
per gallon for sparkling wine

Wine wholesalers,  
wineries

$14,771,656

* Transfers to Foundation School Program.
Source: Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
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“Setting Aside” Money for College  by Maria Garnett

The spiraling cost of a college education — and the debt 
accompanying it — is on Americans’ minds now more 
than ever. Students and their families have seen their 
tuition bills skyrocket, threatening the dream of college 
for many. 

Texas has invested in public higher education since 
the 19th century, through the establishment of the 
University of Texas and what would become Texas A&M 
University, as well as the creation of the Permanent 
University Fund, which generates investment income for 
both university systems. 

Nevertheless, Texas was a “low-cost, low-aid” state 
in terms of public higher education until the latter part 
of the 20th century. The state established its first major 
grant program for higher education in 1973, with the 
creation of Tuition Equalization Grants, which provide 
need-based financial aid to Texas residents attending 
private nonprofit universities, traditionally much more 
expensive than public institutions. 

Students attending the state’s public colleges and 
universities received similar need-based assistance in 
1975, with the introduction of Texas Public Educational 
Grants (TPEGs). Texas funds TPEGs by setting aside a 
portion of the tuition collected at public institutions 
for this purpose. Thus, Texas’ primary aid source for 
students at public institutions comes through what is 
commonly called a financial aid set-aside or simply a 
set-aside. 

Nearly 25 years later, in 1999, the state of Texas  
created another need-based financial aid program, 
TEXAS Grants (Towards Excellence, Access and Success), 
funded through legislative appropriations. 

While these relatively modest initiatives fit well with 
Texas’ low-cost, low-aid model, that model was pushed 
to a breaking point during a state budgetary shortfall in 
2003. In that year, the Legislature passed H.B. 3015, which 
“deregulated” public tuition, significantly changing the 
financial landscape for Texas public universities and the 
students attending them.

TUITION DEREGULATION AND SET-ASIDES

Prior to 1997, the Texas Legislature set all tuition rates for 
Texas public universities. The Legislature continues to 
set the rate for a portion of total tuition called statutory 
tuition, currently $50 per semester credit hour (SCH) 
for Texas residents, with higher rates for nonresidents. 
Fifteen percent of statutory tuition is set aside for the 
TPEG program.

The 2003 Legislature’s H.B. 3015 
“deregulated” public tuition, significantly 
changing the financial landscape for public 

universities and their students.

HOW TEXAS FUNDS STUDENT AID
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RANGE OF INCREASES IN DESIGNATED TUITION, TEXAS PUBLIC UNIVERSITIES 

FALL 2003 TO FALL 2014

INCREASE
NUMBER/SHARE 

OF INSTITUTIONS INSTITUTIONS

≥ 131.8 < 200 percent 10; 29.4 percent Texas A&M University (TAMU)-Kingsville; TAMU-Corpus Christi; TAMU-Commerce; Angelo State University;  
University of Houston-Victoria; University of Texas (UT)-Tyler; Tarleton State University; UT-Permian Basin;  
University of Houston-Clear Lake; UT-El Paso

≥ 200 < 300 percent 16; 47.1 percent TAMU-International; Texas Woman’s University; Midwestern State University; UT-Brownsville; UT-San Antonio;  
University of Houston-Downtown; TAMU-Texarkana; Texas Tech University; Texas Southern University; UT-Pan American;  
TAMU (College Station); West TAMU; UT-Austin; Sul Ross State University; Sam Houston State University; TAMU-Galveston

≥ 300 percent 8; 23.5 percent Prairie View A&M; Texas State University; University of North Texas; Stephen F. Austin State University; Lamar University;  
UT-Arlington; University of Houston; UT-Dallas

Note: Of 37 Texas public universities, three were not in operation in Fall 2003 and therefore are excluded from this analysis: Texas A&M University – Central Texas, Texas A&M University –  
San Antonio and the University of North Texas at Dallas. UT-Brownsville and UT-Pan American, which are merging to form UT-Rio Grande Valley, are treated as separate institutions for this purpose.

Sources: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

In 1997, however, the Legislature added a second 
type of tuition for undergraduates at public universities, 
designated tuition. (A third type, board-authorized 
tuition, is charged for graduate courses.) Designated 
tuition rates are set by university governing boards and 
thus vary by institution. 

Before 2003, the state placed caps on both statutory 
and designated tuition. H.B. 3015 deregulated desig-
nated tuition, allowing university boards to raise rates 
beyond a previous cap of $46 per SCH. The Legislature 
continued to set rates for statutory tuition.

To offset anticipated increases in designated tuition, 
H.B. 3015 also required the expansion of financial aid 
set-asides at Texas public universities. The Legislature 
kept in place the 15 percent set-aside of statutory 
tuition to fund financial aid, but instituted a 20 percent 
set-aside requirement for any increases to designated 
tuition above the previous cap. (The former $46 cap is 
still used to calculate the set-aside today.)

The 20 percent set-aside included 15 percent 
for need-based financial aid at each university; the 
remaining 5 percent was used to fund a “B-On-Time” 
loan program, offering qualified students zero-interest 
loans that would be forgiven if they graduated on time. 

SET-ASIDES RISE WITH TUITION

Since 2003, tuition and fees at Texas public universities 
have increased enormously in real terms, while  
median household income has grown only minimally 
(Exhibit 1).

The impact of tuition deregulation has differed 
greatly by institution, however. Among Texas public 
institutions that existed in 2003, designated tuition 
increases from Fall 2003 to Fall 2014 ranged from less 
than 139 percent at Texas A&M University – Kingsville  
to nearly 363 percent at the University of Texas at  
Dallas (Exhibit 2).

E X H I B I T  1

TEXAS MEDIAN HOUSEHOLD INCOME VS.
AVERAGE TOTAL ACADEMIC CHARGES AT 

 TEXAS PUBLIC UNIVERSITIES

2003-2014 School Years 
(Adjusted for Inflation to 2014 Dollars)

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics and Texas Comptroller  
of Public Accounts

0%

10%

20%

30%

40%

50%

60%

70%

20092008 2013 2014201020072006200520042003 20122011

PERCENT CHANGE IN MEDIAN HOUSEHOLD INCOME

PERCENT CHANGE IN TOTAL ACADEMIC CHARGES FALL SEMESTER

As the amounts universities charge in designated 
tuition rose, so did the amount of tuition set-asides for 
financial aid (Exhibit 3). Set-asides from designated 
tuition grew from a statewide average of $2.55 per SCH 
in Fall 2004 to $19.18 per SCH in Fall 2014, an increase of 
nearly 654 percent.

Financial aid set-asides from statutory tuition 
also increased over this period, though much more 
modestly, in line with increases to statutory tuition 
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“Setting Aside” Money for College CONTINUED FROM PAGE 9

itself. Statutory tuition per SCH (and thus the set-asides 
funding the Texas Public Educational Grant program) has 
increased only twice in the past 12 years, from $46 to $48 
in Fall 2004, and to $50 in Fall 2005. The 15 percent of 
statutory tuition reserved for TPEGs therefore has risen 
from $6.90 per SCH in Fall 2003 to $7.50 at present.

During the 2015 session of the Texas Legislature, 
lawmakers passed H.B. 700, which will phase out the 
B-On-Time loan program by 2020, and eliminated its 
accompanying 5 percent set-aside for designated tuition 
beginning in Fall 2015.

At present, then, the same set-aside percentage 
applies to both statutory and designated tuition, with 
the 15 percent designated set-aside exclusively funding 
institutional aid programs.

Universities have been required to notify students 
of the set-asides generated via their tuition payments 
since 2009, though they are able to do so in a variety of 
ways, such as statements on tuition bills or emails sent to 
individual students.

SET-ASIDES AND THE COST OF COLLEGE

As detailed in a December 2014 Comptroller special 
report, there are multiple potential explanations for the 
steep rise in the cost of higher education; the use of 
tuition set-asides is hardly the only reason. 

But that’s not to say it has no effect. The set-aside 
requirement for designated tuition could be contribut-
ing to the price increase by leading public universities 
to charge higher tuition rates than they would in the 
absence of the requirement. 

The reason is fairly simple. As things stand, 
universities get only 85 percent of the “benefit” of a 
tuition increase, due to the set-aside. Thus a university 
seeking an additional $100 in tuition per student to 
meet its costs must increase its tuition by nearly $118.

ALTERNATIVES TO SET-ASIDES?

While the general public, and even students at Texas 
public universities, may be largely unaware of the role 
financial aid set-asides play in higher education, some 
groups have been paying attention, and support the 
repeal of the set-asides mandate. The elimination of 
the 5 percent set-aside for the B-On-Time program may 
encourage such efforts. 

One alternative to mandatory set-asides is to expand 
the grant programs Texas already has in place, such as 
the TEXAS Grants, which received additional funding 
in the 2015 legislative session. If the goal is to subsidize 
public higher education for students with financial need, 
the logic runs, why rely upon the relatively small pool of 
students and their families rather than the broader Texas 
tax base? 

Based on data provided by the Texas Higher 
Education Coordinating Board, for instance, 
undergraduate set-asides in 2012 came from 454,154 
students paying an average of $649 each. If the state had 
provided this amount directly, it would have cost Texans 
a little more than $11 each to generate the same amount 
of funding. Given the existing infrastructure of the 
TEXAS Grant program, administrative costs would  
be minimal. 

On the other hand, the political costs of increasing 
state spending, even toward the goal of ensuring higher 
education affordability, might prove too great  
to overcome.

The rising cost of college is a complex issue, but one 
with significant economic consequences for students, 
families and our state in general. Now that at least part 
of Texas’ required set-asides have been eliminated, it 
seems likely the Legislature will examine the entire 
system more closely, sooner or later. FN

E X H I B I T  3

DESIGNATED TUITION SET-ASIDES  
PER SEMESTER CREDIT HOUR

Statewide Average among Texas Public Universities 
Fall 2003 through Fall 2014

Sources: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and Texas Comptroller 
of Public Accounts
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SMALL LOANS HELP  
BUSINESS GROW
Many South Texas residents may never have heard 
of one of their region’s busiest business lending 
institutions. But for nonprofit “microfinance” lender 
LiftFund (formerly known as Accíon Texas) and other 
nonprofit lenders, small business is good business — 
and great news for one of Texas’ most economically 
challenged regions.

Microfinance “is a universal term for providing small 
loans, either for consumers or businesses, to those who 
cannot access debt from traditional financial services like 
a bank or credit card,” says Celina Peña, chief program 
officer for LiftFund, the state’s largest microfinance 
lender. “It combats predatory lending and can assist 
individuals in building assets and becoming part of the 
American financial mainstream.”

Even before the Great Recession, small 
entrepreneurs needing startup capital faced difficulties. 
Since then, mainstream institutions have tightened their 
lending requirements — and often view small business 
owners as particularly risky bets. But microlenders 
across the U.S. are helping to fill the gap.

FUNDING AND ASSISTANCE

With assistance from the U.S. Small Business 
Administration (SBA), Texas microloan entities such 
as LiftFund, PeopleFund, New Covenant Capital 
Corporation, BCL of Texas and the Alliance for 
Multicultural Community Services are becoming more 
familiar to the state’s small business community. 

The SBA makes funding 
available to specially designated 
intermediary lenders with 
nonprofit status and experience in 
lending and technical assistance. 
These lenders then make loans to 
eligible borrowers, at competitive 
interest rates, in amounts up to 
$50,000. The average loan size is 
about $13,000. Applications are 
submitted to the designated  
local intermediary lender, and all 
credit decisions are made on the 
local level. 

In addition to federal funding, 
some microlenders receive support 
from public-private partnerships. 
San Antonio’s 80/20 Foundation, 
founded by Rackspace Hosting’s 
chairman Graham Weston, invests 
in nonprofit organizations such as 
LiftFund with the intent of growing 

small businesses that will improve the local quality of life 
and encourage larger companies to relocate to Texas. 

The El Paso Small Business Development Center 
(SBDC) works in conjunction with LiftFund to assist most 
of its clients seeking microloans. 

“The SBDC provides the majority 
of the technical assistance required 
by LiftFund,” says Joseph C. Ferguson, 
director of the El Paso SBDC. This may 
take the form of one-on-one confidential 
business advising, project feasibility 
analysis and business planning.  

“Quite often, the loan applicant will 
need assistance in properly completing 
the loan application,” he says. “The 
applicant will also be schooled in 
understanding business financial 
statements. All of these services are 
provided at no cost to the applicant 
in either English or Spanish. Upon completion of 
the assistance provided by the SBDC, the applicant 
is referred back to LiftFund for project review and 
underwriting analysis.”

Ferguson also says the SBDC’s role is only to 
facilitate the microloan process — his organization does 
not make or guarantee any loan. If LiftFund decides to 
assist a client with an SBA guaranteed loan, SBDC helps 
the applicant with the required documentation and 
other technical assistance.

Microfinance Makes Big Impact  by Jackie Benton

CELINA PEÑA

CHIEF PROGRAM OFFICER,  
LIFTFUND

CONTINUED ON PAGE 12
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HELP ALONG THE BORDER

Microfinance can be particularly crucial in the Border 
region.

“The challenges that small businesses located along 
the Border face in obtaining startup and expansion 
financing are quite different than those of larger 
businesses,” Ferguson says. “It’s not unusual for a small 

business owner to be unfamiliar 
with business financing. Many 
owners started their businesses 
with saved money or seed capital 
provided by other family members.”

Ferguson also notes that a lack 
of business education is a common 
denominator among microloan 
borrowers. 

“Instead of their goal being to 
create and grow a business, it is 
usually more about creating a job 
for themselves,” he says. “Many of 
the owners only have a trade or skill 
that they’ve turned into a business, 
[but] traditional lenders often want 

a formal business education or years of experience. They 
also lack the basic requirements for a traditional bank 
loan. Technical assistance is needed to create a brief 
business plan, financial projections and possibly even 
help in creating the prior year’s financial statements.”

“Microfinance use along the border is vital to 
individuals who are just not able to receive traditional 
financing,” says LiftFund’s Peña. “When you think of the 
Border economy, you get a sense of the poverty, but 
also the tremendous amount of commerce. Our work 
complements this environment very well.”

The Border region is unlike other regions in 
Texas, agrees Rosa Rios Valdez, president and CEO of 
microlender BCL of Texas. “South Texas borrowers  
don’t have MBAs — they typically don’t even have high 
school diplomas. Their credit scores are lower, and most 
don’t have enough history as an operating business. 
They’re intimidated filling out a traditional bank 
application, because they don’t feel a bank is welcoming 
their business.”

Another issue for borrowers in the Border region, 
says Rios Valdez, is collateral. “A lot of the collateral 
these businesses have to offer is not bankable,” she 
explains. “These are small businesses that don’t have 
big plans for market penetration. The assets they have 
to offer as collateral are not what a bank would be 
interested in. If your business is making tamales, would 
a bank consider your tamales, or the equipment used to 
make them, adequate collateral for a loan?”

TAILOR-MADE LOANS

Fortunately for borrowers, microlenders look at other 
criteria to determine if an applicant’s loan is approved. 

“We look at cash flow and the experience the 
borrowers have in their industry or management,” says 
Rios Valdez. “To us, it doesn’t matter if you have a degree 
or not, it comes down to, ‘Do you have the experience 
managing business in that industry?’ If you’re going 
to make tamales, did you supervise the production 
area, did you work in placing orders, are you aware 
of your monthly and quarterly sales? We do look at 
collateral, but we’re flexible on that. We look at financial 
projections for the business: does it have a track record? 
What has been the cash flow in the past, and can this 
business support new debt now?”

LiftFund, based in San Antonio, provided nearly  
$57 million to small businesses and entrepreneurs in 
South Texas between 1996 and 2014 (Exhibit 1).  
It provides loans ranging from $500 to $50,000 for a 
period of no more than five years. 

JOSEPH C. FERGUSON

DIRECTOR, EL PASO  
SMALL BUSINESS  

DEVELOPMENT CENTER

Microfinance Makes Big Impact  CONTINUED FROM PAGE 11

In addition to federal funding, some microlenders 
receive support from public-private partnerships.
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HELPING SMALL BUSINESS THRIVE IN SOUTH TEXAS

LiftFund Lending in South Texas, 1996 - October 2014

Through 2014, LiftFund (formerly Accíon Texas)  
provided small businesses and individual entrepreneurs  

in South Texas with nearly $57 million in loans.

LIFTFUND OFFICE
TOTAL 
LOANS

TOTAL  
AMOUNT DISBURSED

Rio Grande Valley – Brownsville,  
Harlingen, McAllen and surrounding 
cities (established 1998) 

1,535 $19,460,359 

Laredo (established 2005) 443 $5,324,609 

Corpus Christi (established 2004) 693 $10,191,450 

El Paso (established 1996) 1,984 $21,866,844 

Total 4,655 $56,843,262 

Since 1996, it has built on its success in South Texas 
by expanding throughout Texas and the Southeastern 
U.S., allowing LiftFund to service clients in Alabama, 
Arkansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri  
and Tennessee. 

Clients repay LiftFund more than 90 percent of the 
time. The organization credits its high repayment rates 
to a risk model it uses to select the most promising 
clients. 

“We revise our formula every two years,” says Peña. 
“It’s an important element of our success. It helps folks 
understand we’re not making decisions based on  
what’s in front of us only, but based on our track record 
and theirs.”

Of course, not every application is approved. 
According to Peña, the care with which microlenders 
choose their customers sets them apart from traditional 
lenders. 

“We want to be able to support them,” she says 
of those denied loans. “You can reapply in 90 days 
if you’ve taken certain measures to improve your 
financial status, and we provide guidance and partner 
resources.”

TEACHING SUCCESS

Many microfinance institutions offer their customers 
financial education and vocational training to 
encourage self-reliance and financial discipline.

LiftFund, for instance, encourages clients to take 
advantage of its free financial educational classes. 

“Our education focuses around financial 
management,” says Peña. “You can go to school now to 
become a business owner, but most of our clients didn’t 
take that route.”

The nonprofit provides would-be applicants with 
tips on finding funding and other steps involved in 
starting a business. It also collaborates with other 
community organizations to develop a 360-degree 
understanding of its clients’ needs.

“While microlending is not traditional, it’s a step 
into the financial mainstream,” says Peña. “Someone can 
have a budget, but not really understand why they’re at 
a negative cash flow. Or they didn’t realize they had a 
low credit score because of something that happened 
three years ago.”

Most of all, Peña says, LiftFund wants its clients to 
understand basic finance and lending principles as they 
begin to become entrepreneurs. 

 “We want people to understand where they are 
financially,” Peña says. “The loan is a vital tool, but so 
many other things go with that.

 “When you’re in the business you’re in that mindset 
— you’ve got your blinders on to get business done, 
so having someone outside the business looking at it 
financially is pretty eye-opening,” she says. 

Many microfinance institutions offer their 
customers financial education and vocational 

training, to encourage self-reliance and 
financial discipline.

Source: LiftFund

E X H I B I T  1

CONTINUED ON PAGE 14
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BUILDING SOLID COMMUNITY ASSETS

BCL’s Rios Valdez says her institution’s lending 
philosophy takes a larger view of what small business 
can do to strengthen the economy of its community 
at large. Rios Valdez calls this sort of community asset 
building the “ripple effect.” 

“It’s not just about starting a microbusiness and 
you’ve created jobs for yourself and your spouse,” 
she says. “The whole idea of stimulating the economy 
is beyond having received a loan and making a nice 
business just for yourself. When we interview our 
borrowers, we ask them several questions such as,  
‘Do you offer your employees benefits?’

“We want our microbusinesses to create jobs at a 
livable wage, which is considered 
$10.10 an hour,” Rios Valdez 
explains. “We want to look at 
the financial capability of the 
business, and its employees’ 
financial ability to own a home 
and have a comfortable life. 

“When BCL works with a 
microbusiness, we want to help 
them grow to the next level, and 
get the owners to understand the 
importance of asset building for 
themselves and their employees,” 
she says.

COMMUNITY COLLABORATION

LiftFund is working to increase 
its lending and make larger loans 
that would allow it to break even 
on its business loans. 

 “Most banks use credit 
cards to provide capital for small 
business, because business loans 
don’t make money below a certain 
threshold,” Peña says. “LiftFund 
doesn’t make money on loans 
under $15,000. As a nonprofit, 
we’re always trying to figure 
out how we crack that nut. Our 
average loan size is $14,000 — 
we’re almost there.”

Peña feels LiftFund’s future 
success lies in partnering with the 
communities it serves, bringing key 
partners and community leaders 
together to plan for solid business 
development in their areas. 

As proof of the success 
partnership can bring, Ferguson 
points to the wide variety of 

businesses in the El Paso region that have benefited 
from the joint assistance they have received from SBDC 
and LiftFund.  

“These businesses range from restaurants, used 
car dealers, driver training schools, HVAC companies, 
owner-operated trucking companies, flower shops and 
contractors, to name a few,” says Ferguson. “As diverse 
as they are, they all had one thing in common: for 
various reasons, they were unable to obtain financing 
through traditional lenders. Without the assistance 
of LiftFund and the SBDC, these businesses probably 
wouldn’t exist.”

“We recognize we can’t do this work alone,” agrees 
Peña. “It takes many players, and I think that’s one of our 
strengths in South Texas, working with others.” FN

Microfinance Makes Big Impact  CONTINUED FROM PAGE 13

The Texas Tuition Promise Fund®, the state’s prepaid college tuition plan, allows families to lock 
in tomorrow’s tuition and school-wide required fees at Texas public colleges and universities at 
today’s prices. 

The plan allows you to purchase tuition units to cover all or a portion of these costs, and our 
flexible payment options fit almost any budget. 

You may enroll in the plan at any time between Sept. 1, 2015 and Feb. 29, 2016. Enrollment for 
newborns or children less than one year old extends through July 31.

The easiest way to open an account is to visit TuitionPromise.org to download or order an 
enrollment kit. Or call 1-800-445-GRAD (4723), option #5, for more information.

Matching Scholarships Available to Plan Enrollees
Every year, the Texas Match The Promise FoundationSM 
awards scholarships to fifth- through ninth-graders who 
are enrolled in the Texas Tuition Promise Fund. The 
scholarships are open Sept. 1 – Dec. 31, 2015 to eligible 
students. Visit MatchThePromise.org for more details.

Your Little Texan  
Has Big Dreams.

We have a prepaid college tuition plan that fits their  
dreams into your budget. 

Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

Comments or complaints may be mailed to the following address or by calling 
the following number: Prepaid Higher Education Tuition Program, Office of 
the Comptroller of Public Accounts, P.O. Box 13407, Austin, Texas 78711-3407, 
512-936-2064.
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State Revenue Watch 

Tax Collections by Major Tax SEPTEMBER 2015
YEAR TO DATE:  

TOTAL

YEAR TO DATE: 
CHANGE FROM 

PREVIOUS YEAR

SALES TAX $2,221,358 $2,221,358  1.87%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 1.87%

MOTOR VEHICLE SALES AND RENTAL TAXES $415,958 $415,958 5.75%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 5.75%

MOTOR FUEL TAXES $308,267 $308,267  5.30%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 5.30%

FRANCHISE TAX $(32,336) $(32,336) 2458.59%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 2458.59%

INSURANCE TAXES $15,584 $15,584 -17.05%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 -17.05%

NATURAL GAS PRODUCTION TAX $69,099 $69,099 -62.35%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 -62.35%

CIGARETTE AND TOBACCO TAXES $65,292 $65,292 -51.57%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 -51.57%

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES TAXES $94,313 $94,313 2.35%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 2.35%

OIL PRODUCTION AND REGULATION TAXES $160,951 $160,951 -54.97%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 -54.97%

UTILITY TAXES1 $981 $981 22.96%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 22.96%

HOTEL OCCUPANCY TAX $44,096 $44,096 1.09%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 1.09%

OTHER TAXES2 $7,873 $7,873 -49.07%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 -49.07%

TOTAL TAX COLLECTIONS $3,371,436  $3,371,436  -9.18%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 -9.18%

Revenue By Source SEPTEMBER 2015
YEAR TO DATE:  

TOTAL

YEAR TO DATE: 
CHANGE FROM 

PREVIOUS YEAR

TOTAL TAX COLLECTIONS $3,371,436 $3,371,436 -9.18%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 -9.18%

FEDERAL INCOME $3,086,215 $3,086,215 3.31%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 3.31%

LICENSES, FEES, PERMITS, FINES AND PENALTIES $821,127 $821,127  29.74%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 29.74%

INTEREST AND INVESTMENT INCOME $40,652 $40,652 8.07%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 8.07%

LOTTERY PROCEEDS3 $175,464 $175,464  29.18%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 29.18%

SALES OF GOODS AND SERVICES $21,692 $21,692 -9.89%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 -9.89%

SETTLEMENTS OF CLAIMS $6,789 $6,789 299.44%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 299.44%

LAND INCOME $101,313 $101,313 -52.15%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 -52.15%

CONTRIBUTIONS TO EMPLOYEE BENEFITS  $3 $3  -38.97%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 -38.97%

OTHER REVENUE SOURCES $241,148 $241,148  67.98%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 67.98%

TOTAL NET REVENUE $7,865,840 $7,865,840 -0.26%

PERCENT CHANGE FROM SEPTEMBER 2014 -0.26%

1  Includes public utility gross receipts assessment, 
gas, electric and water utility tax and gas utility 
pipeline tax. 

2 Includes the cement and sulphur taxes and 
other occupation and gross receipt taxes not 
separately identified.

3 Gross sales less retailer commissions and the 
smaller prizes paid by retailers. 

Note: Totals may not add due to rounding.

NET STATE REVENUE — All Funds Excluding Trust

(AMOUNTS IN THOUSANDS)

Monthly and Year-to-Date Collections: Percent Change From Previous Year

This table presents data on net 
state revenue collections by 
source. It includes most recent 
monthly collections, year-to-date 
(YTD) totals for the current fiscal 
year and a comparison of current 
YTD totals with those in the 
equivalent period of the previous 
fiscal year. 

These numbers were current at 
press time. For the most current 
data as well as downloadable files, 
visit TexasTransparency.org.

Note: Texas’ fiscal year begins  
on September 1 and ends  
on August 31.
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