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USING SALES TAX TO REDUCE 
THE PROPERTY TAX RATE
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Additional sales and 

use tax can be enacted 

if a community’s total 

local sales tax rate will 

not exceed 2 percent.

FOR MORE INFORMATION,  
VISIT OUR WEBSITE

Comptroller.Texas.Gov

RECEIVE ECONOMIC  
DEVELOPMENT TAX HELP  

BY EMAIL AT

econ.dev@cpa.texas.gov
This publication is intended as a general guide and not as a comprehensive resource on the subjects covered.  

It is not a substitute for legal advice.

Texas cities, counties and hospital districts have the option to reduce property taxes by 
imposing a sales and use tax. 

Although this tax is sometimes called “the sales 
tax to reduce the property tax rate,” state statutes 
refer to it as “the additional municipal sales and 
use tax” for cities, the “county sales and use tax” 
for counties and the “hospital district sales and 
use tax” for hospital districts.
[Refer to Health and Safety Code, Sect. 285.061,

and Tax Code, Sect. 321.101, 323.101.] 

ELIGIBILITY

CITIES

 A city is eligible to adopt the tax if it is not with-
in the boundaries of a regional transportation or 
rapid transit authority, does not impose a sales tax to fund 
a municipal transit department, and the new combined 
local sales tax rate would not exceed two percent at any 
location within the city. 

Cities within the boundaries of the following metropolitan 
transit authorities (MTAs), regional transit authority (RTAs), 
and city transit departments (CTDs) are generally excluded 
from enacting the tax: 

• Austin MTA, Corpus Christi MTA, Houston MTA and San 
Antonio MTA;

• Dallas RTA and Fort Worth MTA; and

• El Paso CTD and Laredo CTD. 

[Refer to Tax Code, Sect. 321.101, and Transportation Code, 

Chapters 451-453.] 

COUNTIES

A county is eligible to adopt the tax if the new combined 
local sales tax rate would not exceed 2 percent at any 
location within the county, and no part of the county is 
located within the boundaries of a rapid transit or regional 
transportation authority. An authority is not considered part 
of a county if fewer than 250 people are residents of both 
the county and the authority.
[Refer to Tax Code, 323.101, and Transportation Code, 

Chapters 451-452.]

HOSPITAL DISTRICTS

A hospital district authorized to impose a property tax is 
eligible to adopt the sales and use tax to lower the district’s 
property taxes if the new combined rate of all local sales taxes 
would not exceed 2 percent at any location within the district.
[Refer to Health and Safety Code, Sect. 285.061(a).]

http://Comptroller.Texas.Gov
mailto:econ.dev%40cpa.texas.gov%20?subject=
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HS/htm/HS.285.htm
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TX/htm/TX.321.htm#321.101
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TX/htm/TX.323.htm#323.101
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TX/htm/TX.321.htm#321.101
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TN/htm/TN.451.htm
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TN/htm/TN.451.htm
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TX/htm/TX.323.htm#323.101
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TN/htm/TN.451.htm
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TN/htm/TN.451.htm
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HS/htm/HS.285.htm
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TAX RATE

CITIES

Voters may adopt a tax rate of up to 2 percent in incre-
ments of 0.125 percent. Increases or reductions in the tax 
rate also must be in increments of 0.125 percent.
[Refer to Tax Code, Sect. 321.103.]

COUNTIES

Voters may adopt the sales and use tax at a rate of 0.5 
percent. If a county has no incorporated cities, the county 
tax rate must be 1 percent.
[Refer to Tax Code, Sect. 323.103.] 

HOSPITAL DISTRICTS

Voters may adopt or change the tax in increments of 0.125 
percent to a maximum of 2 percent, as long as the combined 
local sales tax rate would not exceed 2 percent at any loca-
tion within the district.
[Refer to Health and Safety Code, Sect. 285.061(a), (c).]

CALLING ELECTIONS
The governing body of an eligible city, county or hospital 
district may call for an election in two ways:

• by majority vote of the governing body; or 

• by petition of qualified voters equal to at least five per-
cent of the number of registered voters.

COMBINED BALLOT PROPOSITION

A city may use a combined ballot proposition to lower or to 
repeal any municipal sales tax, including the additional sales 
tax for property tax relief; and by the same proposition raise or 
adopt any other municipal sales tax.

A combined sales tax proposition under this section shall 
contain substantially the same language, if any, required by 
law for the lowering, repealing, raising, or adopting each tax 
as appropriate.

A negative vote on a combined sales tax proposition 
under this section shall have no effect on either the sales 
tax to be lowered or repealed by the proposition or the 
sales tax to be raised or adopted by the proposition.  
This provision only applies to elections called by the  
city council.
[Refer to Tax Code, Sect. 321.409.]

DEADLINE AFTER PETITION

If responding to a petition, the governing body must deter-
mine if it is sufficient within 30 days of receiving it. 

If deemed sufficient, the governing body must then 
adopt an ordinance or order calling for the election within 
60 days after receiving the petition. 

TIME OF ELECTION

The Tax Code specifies that the election must be held on 
the next uniform election date not less than 30 days after 
the ordinance or order is passed.

The uniform election dates are:

• the first Saturday in May; and

• the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November. 

For guidance on the timing of elections, please contact 
the Secretary of State (SOS) at 512-463-5650 or toll free 
at 800-252-8683. Additional information is available on the 
Secretary of State’s website. 

WITHDRAWAL FROM A TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

A municipality may withdraw from a Transportation Authority 
after holding an election for that purpose. However, a munici-
pality may not use a combined ballot proposition to withdraw 
from a Transportation Authority and impose a sales tax to 
reduce the property tax rate or any other special purpose 
sales tax.

Within 10 days after an 

election, the governing 

body must enter the 

resolution or the 

ordinance declaring the 

results into the minutes 

of a meeting held for 

that purpose.

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TX/htm/TX.321.htm#321.409
http://www.sos.state.tx.us/elections/index.shtml
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TX/htm/TX.321.htm#321.103
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TX/htm/TX.323.htm#323.103
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HS/htm/HS.285.htm
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BALLOT WORDING 

CITIES

When holding an election to adopt, increase, reduce or 
repeal the additional sales tax, a city must print the ballot 
to permit voting for or against one of the following proposi-
tions, as appropriate:

If a city has a property tax and proposes to adopt or 
increase the additional sales tax, the ballot proposition 
must state:

“The adoption of an additional sales and use tax 
within the city at the rate of _____ to be used 
to reduce the property tax rate.” (Insert rate in 
increments of 0.125 percent as appropriate).
If a city does not have a property tax and proposes 
to adopt or increase the additional sales tax, the 
ballot proposition must state:
“The adoption of an additional sales and use 
tax within the city at the rate of _____.” 
(Insert rate in increments of 0.125 percent, as 
appropriate).
For a city to repeal the tax, the ballot proposi-
tion must state:
“The abolition of the additional sales and use 
tax within the city.”

[Refer to Tax Code, Sect. 321.404.]

COUNTIES

When holding an election to adopt or repeal the sales and 
use tax, a county must print the ballot to permit voting for 
or against one of the following propositions, as appropriate:

In a county with territory within the limits of a city, the 
ballot proposition to adopt the tax must state:

“Adoption of a one-half percent county sales and use 
tax within the county to be used to reduce the county 
property tax rate.”

In a county that does not have territory within the limits 
of a city, the ballot proposition to adopt the tax must state:

“Adoption of a one percent county sales and use 
tax within the county to be used to reduce the 
county property tax rate.”

In an election to repeal the tax, the ballot proposition 
must state:

“Abolition of the county sales and use tax within 
the county.”

[Refer to Tax Code, Sect. 323.404.]

HOSPITAL DISTRICTS

When holding an election to adopt, increase, reduce or repeal 
the sales and use tax, a hospital district must print the ballot 
to permit voting for or against one of the following propositions, 
as appropriate:

For a hospital district to adopt the tax, the ballot propo-
sition must state:

“The adoption of a local sales and use tax in 
(name of district) at the rate of (proposed tax 
rate) percent to be used to reduce the district 
property taxes.”

To change the tax rate, the ballot proposition must state:
“The (increase or decrease, as applicable) in 
the rate of the local sales and use tax imposed 
by (name of district) from (tax rate on election 
date) percent to (proposed tax rate) percent.”

To abolish the tax, the ballot proposition must state:
“The abolition of the local sales and use tax in 
(name of district).”

[Refer to Health and Safety Code, Sect. 285.062(c)-(e).]

Cities, counties and 

hospital districts may 

use revenues from this 

tax as they would use 

property tax revenues.

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TX/htm/TX.321.htm#321.404
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TX/htm/TX.323.htm#323.404
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HS/htm/HS.285.htm
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NOTIFICATION TO THE COMPTROLLER
Within 10 days after an election, the governing body must 
enter the resolution or the ordinance declaring the results 
into its meeting minutes. The resolution or ordinance must 
include:

• the date of the election;

• the proposition on which the vote was held;

• the total number of votes cast for and against the  
proposition; and

• the number of votes by which the proposition was 
approved.

Before the end of the current calendar quarter, the city, 
county or hospital district must send copies of the reso-
lution or ordinance along with a map of the municipality 
clearly showing its boundaries to the Comptroller’s office, 
through U.S. certified or registered mail. After receiving 
the resolution or ordinance, the Comptroller has 30 days 
to notify the entity that the Comptroller’s office is ready to 
manage the administration of the tax. 
[Refer to Tax Code, Sect. 321.405.]

COMPTROLLER’S ADDRESS

Comptroller of Public Accounts
Revenue Accounting Division, Tax Allocation Section
P.O. Box 13528
Austin, Texas 78711-3528.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF TAX OR TAX CHANGE

After voter approval, the tax change becomes effective on 
Oct. 1 after the expiration of the first complete calendar 
quarter after the Comptroller receives official notice from the 
entity of the tax rate change.

May Election: Send notice to the Comptroller no later 
than the last week in June. The new tax rate will take effect 
on Oct. 1 of the same year. The entity will receive its first 
payment from the Comptroller in December.

November Election: Send notice to the Comptroller no 
later than the last week in December. The new tax rate will 
take effect on Oct. 1 of the following year. The entity will 
receive its first payment from the Comptroller during the 
subsequent December.
[Refer to Tax Code, Sect. 321.102(a-b), 321.409, 

323.102(a-b), and Health and Safety Code, Sect. 285.063.] 

USE OF REVENUE AND EXCESS REVENUE

Cities, counties and hospital districts may use revenues 
from this tax as they would use property tax revenues. 
There are, however, some restrictions placed on cities and 
counties in the use of “excess” revenues—the additional 
sales and use tax that exceeds the projected amount of 
property tax to be reduced for a given year. For cities and 
counties that impose a property tax, the revenues collected 
from the additional sales and use tax up to the projected 
amount may be used for any legal budgeted purpose. The 
projected amount is the estimate of sales tax revenue cal-
culated under Tax Code, Sect. 26.041(d).

During the first three years of imposing the tax, 
a city or a county must deposit any amounts that 
exceed the projected amount into an “excess sales 
tax revenue fund.” During these first three years, the 
city or the county may use the excess revenues only 
if, and to the extent that, other revenues fall short 
of budgeted amounts. After the third year, the city or 
the county may use the revenue in the fund for any 
legal purpose listed in its budget. When all revenue 
in the fund has been spent, the fund ceases to exist. 

Cities and counties 

must use excess funds 

to pay current debt 

obligations.

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TX/htm/TX.321.htm
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TX/htm/TX.323.htm#323.102
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HS/htm/HS.285.htm
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TX/htm/TX.26.htm#26.041
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.321.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.321.htm#321.405
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Similarities in depositing and using funds end with the 
beginning of the fourth year. In the fourth year, a city must 
deposit excess funds into a “municipal sales tax debt service 
fund,” which may be used only to pay city debts. After current 
debt obligations have been paid, excess funds may be used 
for any legal budgeted purpose. A city cannot pledge the 
anticipated sales tax revenue to pay bonds or other debts. 

Counties also must use excess funds to reduce county 
debts. After all debt is paid, a county may use the excess 
funds for any legal budgeted purpose. Similarly, a county 
cannot pledge anticipated sales tax revenue to secure the 
payment of bonds or other debts for a period longer than 
one year.
[Refer to Tax Code, Sect. 321.506-7, 323.505, and Health and 

Safety Code, Sect. 285.064.] 

FOR MORE INFORMATION 
For more information about the sales tax to reduce the 
property tax rate, contact the Comptroller’s Data Analysis 
and Transparency Division at 844-519-5672,  
or econ.dev@cpa.texas.gov.

For more information about property taxes or about 
calculating no-new-revenue tax rates and voter-approval 
tax rates, contact the Comptroller’s Property Tax Division at 
800-252-9121.

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TX/htm/TX.321.htm#321.506
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TX/htm/TX.323.htm#323.505
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HS/htm/HS.285.htm
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HS/htm/HS.285.htm
mailto:econ.dev%40cpa.texas.gov?subject=


WE’RE HERE TO HELP!
If you have questions or need information, contact us:

This publication is intended as a general guide and not as a comprehensive resource on the subjects covered. It is not a substitute for legal advice.

Glenn Hegar 
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

For more information, visit our website 
Comptroller.Texas.Gov 

Receive economic development  
tax help by email at 

econ.dev@cpa.texas.gov

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts 
111 East 17th Street

Austin, Texas 78711-1440

Sign up to receive email updates on  
the Comptroller topics of your choice at  
comptroller.texas.gov/subscribe.

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities 
Act, this document may be requested in alternative 
formats by calling the appropriate toll-free number 
listed or by sending a fax to 512-475-0900.

800-252-5555
911 Emergency Service/ 

Equalization Surcharge
Automotive Oil Fee
Battery Fee 
Boat and Boat Motor Sales Ta
Customs Broker
Mixed Beverage Taxes
Off-Road, Heavy-Duty Diesel  

Equipment Surcharge
Oyster Fee
Sales and Use Taxes

x

800-531-5441
Cement Tax
Inheritance Tax
Local Revenue
Miscellaneous Gross 

Receipts Taxes
Oil Well Servicing Tax
Sulphur Tax

800-531-5441, ext. 3-3630
WebFile Help

800-252-1381
Bank Franchise
Franchise Tax

800-252-7875
Spanish

800-531-1441
Fax on Demand (Most frequently 
requested Sales and Franchise tax forms)

800-252-1382
Clean Vehicle Incentive Program
Manufactured Housing Tax
Motor Vehicle Sales Surcharge, 

Rental and Seller Financed Sales Tax
Motor Vehicle Registration Surcharge

800-252-1383
Fuels Tax
IFTA
LG Decals 
Petroleum Products Delivery Fee
School Fund Benefit Fee

800-252-1384
Coastal Protection
Crude Oil Production Tax
Natural Gas Production Tax

800-252-1387
Insurance Tax

800-252-1385
Coin-Operated Machines Tax
Hotel Occupancy Tax

800-252-1386
Account Status
Officer and Director Information

800-862-2260
Cigarette and Tobacco

888-4-FILING (888-434-5464)
TELEFILE: To File by Phone

800-252-1389
GETPUB: To Order Forms and 
Publications

800-654-FIND (800-654-3463)
Treasury Find

800-321-2274
Unclaimed Property Claimants
Unclaimed Property Holders
Unclaimed Property Name Searches

512-463-3120 in Austin

877-44RATE4 (877-447-2834)
Interest Rate
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